Pollard Wins Georgia Control Center 100

Fredrick Moore Clinches Title

Jefferson, Georgia (September 30, 2006) - Senoia, GA's Bubba Pollard started on the pole Saturday night at Peach State Speedway and led all 100 laps of the Georgia Control Center 100.  The Georgia Asphalt Series drivers were making their next-to-last race of the 2006 season.  Kevin Perry, of Jefferson, earned the Atlanta Freightliner Fast Qualifier Award but rolled a "2" and started on the outside of Pollard.  Pollard's strongest duel of the night came from eventual second place finisher Russell Fleeman (Dacula, GA) who pressured Pollard over the last 20 laps but fell short by two car lengths at the finish.  Canton's Matt Hawkins made an impressive run to finish third.  Hawkins started fifteenth on the grid.  David Elliott, from Lawrenceville, finished the race in fourth and Dacula's Richie Ethridge completed the top five.


The top 10 included, 1) Bubba Pollard, 2 )Russell Fleeman, 3)Matt Hawkins, 4)David Elliott, 5)Richie Ethridge, 6)Korey Ruble, 7)Joey Senter, 8)Ronnie Sanders, 9)Richard Johns and10)Greg Motes,


Fredrick Moore's eleventh place run was good enough to catapult Moore to his second GAS championship.  Moore also claimed the championship in 2004, the maiden season of the Georgial Asphalt Series.


The Series will return to Peach State Speedway again on Sunday, October 22nd for the annual World Crown.


In other Peach State local division races:

Larry Jordan outlasted several lead changes and skirmishes to capture the win for the Pro Trucks.  Brian Huff finished second with Cinton Sheriff claiming third.


In the Iceman race, Phil Peppers continued to show his racing prowess as he cruised to the victory.  Mike Davidson was second.


Robbie Gonterman won the Sportsman race over a fast-approaching Michael Massey.  It was the classic story of "If Massey had just had five more laps........"


Anderson, SC's Henry Vaughn beat out Randy Bryant and Todd Stevenson at the line to lay claim to his first Peach State Mini Stock victory.


In the Pro Challenge Series, Terry Mathis took the win with Kyle Mitchell finishing second.






Super Late Model Racing

Most Recent GAS Series Winner

#26 Bubba Pollard
9/30/2006 Peach State Speedway
Qualifying Results Race Results
US friendly Sportsbooks to bet on Nascar listed here.

2006 Schedule

Georgia Asphalt Series


Lanier National Speedway


Anderson Motor Speedway


Watermelon Capital Speedway

4/22 South Georgia Motorsports Park


Peach State Speedway


South Alabama Speedway


Watermelon Capital Speedway


Peach State Speedway


Anderson Motor Speedway


Peach State Speedway


Lanier National Speedway


Peach State Speedway


Watermelon Capital Speedway


Lanier National Speedway


Peach State Speedway


World Crown Weekend

Peach State Speedway

Schedule subject to change without notice.

Hooters World Wide Wing Commander Passes

Robert H. Brooks

Atlanta, GA - Today, Atlanta based Hooters of America announced that Chairman of the Board Robert H. Brooks has passed away. Mr. Brooks who was affectionately referred to as Hooters World Wide Wing Commander died in his home in Myrtle Beach, SC on Sunday, July 16th from natural causes. He was 69 years old.  More...

Georgia Asphalt Series

388 Lyle Field Road

Jefferson, Georgia   30549

Phone: (706) 387-7490

Fax: (706) 387-7491

Series Director - Micky Cain